Blog / October 18, 2026
Online ordering, comparedCommission-free online ordering systems, compared by who pays the fee
Published by Ser.vi. Ser.vi is one of the systems compared. We list our own fees the same way as everyone else's, including where they cost more.
Short answer: A commission-free online ordering system lets a restaurant take orders on its own website or app without the platform taking a percentage of each order. "Commission-free" doesn't mean free. The cost moves into three places: a per-order fee (paid by the guest, the restaurant, or split), card processing, and a monthly subscription. The useful question isn't "is there a commission?" but "who pays which of those three, and how much?"
Last updated October 18, 2026. Every fee below was read on the vendor's own website on October 18, 2026. Prices change, so check the linked page before you sign.
Commission-free doesn't mean free
Of the 14 systems below, 6 charge the guest a per-order fee by design or by default (Ser.vi, Ginger Direct, MyOrdering, TruePlatter, Selflane, Upserve), and TapThru lets the restaurant choose who pays. Owner.com charges the guest too, on top of a monthly plan. The rest put the whole cost on the restaurant through processing, a flat per-order fee, or a subscription.
Comparison table: who pays, how much, and what it costs per month
| System | Who pays the per-order fee | Per-order fee | Commission | Monthly fee | Card processing | Source (read Oct 18, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ser.vi | Guest | 5% convenience fee at checkout | 0% | $0 for ordering | Included in the guest's 5%; restaurant pays $0 | get.ser.vi/pricing/ |
| Ginger Direct | Guest | $1 per order (5% for high-volume, small-ticket shops) | 0% | $0 | "As low as ~2% + 5¢, subject to volume" | gingerserve.com/ginger-direct |
| TapThru | Restaurant chooses (guest or restaurant) | $1.25 per order | 0% | $0 | Restaurant pays standard card processing | tapthru.com |
| MyOrdering | Guest | $1.75 convenience fee | 0% | $0 ("No monthly fees") | Not stated on page | myordering.online |
| TruePlatter | Guest | $1.99 convenience fee + processing | 0% | $0 | Paid by the guest (page lists 3.5% in one place, 2.99% in another) | trueplatter.co |
| Selflane | Guest | 4% (minimum $0.60) | 0% | $0 if you only use its app for online orders | 3.4% + 30¢ per transaction | selflane.com/products/online-ordering |
| Upserve (Lightspeed U-Series) | Guest by default; restaurant can absorb or split | 2.99% of order total | 0% | Per Upserve POS plan | Per Upserve POS plan | Upserve support: "Online Ordering Service Fee" |
| Owner.com | Guest and (Flex plan) restaurant | Guest 5% "order support fee"; Flex adds a 5% restaurant fee | 0% on Flat; 5% restaurant fee on Flex | $249 (Flex) or $499 (Flat) | Not separately listed | owner.com/pricing |
| OrderOrBook | Restaurant | $1 on orders of $20+ (first 30 days free) | 0% | $0 | Separate from the $1 | orderorbook.com |
| Menufy | Not published on pricing page | Not published on pricing page | "No per-order commissions" | $149 (12-month) or $179 (month-to-month) | Not published on pricing page | restaurant.menufy.com/pricing |
| Online Ordering by DoorDash | Restaurant (guest pays delivery fees) | None beyond processing | 0% | $0 | 2.9% + 30¢ (Boost/Pro), 3.3% + 30¢ (Starter) | merchants.doordash.com (pricing + learning center) |
| Square Online (Square for Restaurants) | Restaurant | None beyond processing | 0% | $0 Free / $49 Plus / $149 Premium per location | Online 3.3% + 30¢ (Free), 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus/Premium) | squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing |
| ChowNow | Restaurant | None beyond processing | 0% | From $229 (Launch), $319 (Grow), $409 (Elevate) | 2.95% + 29¢; plus $119–$499 setup | get.chownow.com/pricing/ |
| GloriaFood | No platform fee on core ordering | None | 0% | $0 core; optional paid add-ons | Via your payment provider | gloriafood.com: end of life April 30, 2027 |
Commission here means a percentage the ordering platform keeps from the restaurant's sale. Delivery-app marketplaces typically charge 25–30%.
What one $35 order costs, by who pays
Illustration only. $35 food subtotal, card processing figured on the subtotal, before tax and tip. Only systems that publish a per-order rate are shown.
| System | Guest pays | Restaurant pays | Combined |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ser.vi | $1.75 | $0.00 | $1.75 |
| Ginger Direct (at its "as low as" rate) | $1.00 | $0.75 | $1.75 |
| Upserve (default 100% to guest) | $1.05 | card processing (plan rate) | $1.05 + processing |
| Selflane | $1.40 | $1.49 | $2.89 |
| TapThru (guest pays the $1.25) | $1.25 | $1.32 (2.9% + 30¢, TapThru's own example rate) | $2.57 |
| MyOrdering | $1.75 | not stated | $1.75 + processing |
| TruePlatter (3.5% version) | $3.22 | $0.00 | $3.22 |
| Online Ordering by DoorDash (Boost/Pro) | $0.00 | $1.32 | $1.32 |
| Square Online (Free plan) | $0.00 | $1.46 | $1.46 |
| ChowNow (Launch) | $0.00 | $1.32 + $229/mo | $1.32 + subscription |
| OrderOrBook | $0.00 | $1.00 + processing | $1.00 + processing |
| Owner.com Flat | $1.75 | $499/mo | $1.75 + subscription |
| Owner.com Flex | $1.75 | $1.75 + $249/mo | $3.50 + subscription |
The honest read
- For the guest, Ser.vi's 5% is not the cheapest. On a $35 order, Ginger Direct ($1), Upserve ($1.05), TapThru ($1.25) and Selflane ($1.40) charge the guest less. A percentage fee grows with the order and a flat fee doesn't. Against TapThru's $1.25, Ser.vi's 5% costs the guest more on any order above $25.
- For the restaurant, Ser.vi is $0. The 5% covers card processing and the platform, so nothing comes out of the restaurant's deposit and there's no monthly bill for ordering. Most flat-fee systems still leave card processing with the restaurant.
- Combined cost is where it evens out. Against TapThru with the guest paying, Ser.vi's combined cost is lower up to roughly a $74 order and higher above that. Against Ginger Direct at its best published rate, the two are even at $35, and Ginger is cheaper above that.
- Processing-only systems (DoorDash Online Ordering, Square Online Free) charge the guest nothing extra but cost the restaurant about $1.30–$1.50 on a $35 order. Square's paid plans and ChowNow add a monthly bill.
How to pick: three questions
- Do you want guests or the restaurant to carry the cost? If your guests are used to delivery-app service fees, a disclosed guest fee is usually smaller than what they pay there. If you'd rather show the exact menu total, choose a restaurant-paid model (OrderOrBook, DoorDash Online Ordering, Square Online) or a system that lets you absorb the fee (TapThru, Upserve). More on that trade-off: Who pays the online ordering fee?
- Is your average order small or large? Flat guest fees favor big tickets like pizza for a family or catering. Percentage fees favor small tickets like coffee, boba, or a single lunch. Ginger Direct switches high-volume, small-ticket shops to 5% for that reason.
- Do you also need a POS and table ordering? Several systems here are ordering-only, so you still pay for a POS. Ser.vi includes integrated POS and QR self-service ordering on the same menu. Square, Upserve and Selflane are also POS companies. Owner.com and ChowNow focus on ordering, website and marketing.
The systems, one by one
Ser.vi. 0% commission and no monthly fee for online ordering. The guest pays a 5% convenience fee at checkout, which covers card processing and the platform, so the restaurant pays nothing out of pocket. Same menu as the Ser.vi POS. Staff-entered POS orders are 3.0% + 20¢, paid by the restaurant by default; you can pass that to customers with a cash discount program. Delivery runs through a delivery provider, starting at $6.50 plus tip, paid to the provider. Hardware is separate. Marketing plans are optional ($249, $449 or $749 a month) and are not an ordering fee. See pricing.
Ginger Direct. An ordering site that runs beside your existing POS and prints to your existing network printers. $0 a month, 0% commission, no contract. The customer pays $1 an order, or 5% for high-volume, small-ticket shops. Box and iPad included for eligible restaurants.
TapThru. $1.25 flat per order, no commission, no monthly fee, setup fee or contract. The restaurant decides whether the customer pays the $1.25 or the restaurant covers it. The restaurant pays standard card processing.
MyOrdering. No setup, monthly or cancellation fees. Online guests pay a $1.75 convenience fee per order. Its homepage doesn't say who pays card processing.
TruePlatter. No commission and no monthly cost. Customers pay a $1.99 convenience fee plus a processing fee. The page gives 3.5% in one place and 2.99% in another, so ask which applies. Website, menu setup and ordering hardware are included.
Selflane. No commission. Guests pay a fee starting at 4% per order (minimum $0.60). Processing is 3.4% + 30¢ per transaction. No monthly fee if you only use its app to take online orders.
Upserve (Lightspeed U-Series). The online ordering service fee is 2.99% of the order total. By default the guest pays all of it, and the restaurant can absorb it or split it by any percentage. It's charged on cash, card and gift card orders. Upserve POS plans and processing apply.
Owner.com. Two plans: Flexible at $249/month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order, or Flat Rate at $499/month with no restaurant fee. On both, guests pay a 5% order support fee. Owner.com alternative.
OrderOrBook. First 30 days free, then $1 per order on orders of $20 or more, paid by the restaurant. No commission, monthly fee or contract. Card processing is separate. Optional $50 menu build.
Menufy. $149/month on a 12-month agreement (with equipment) or $179/month month-to-month, with "no per-order commissions". The pricing page we read doesn't list a per-order guest fee or a processing rate, so ask for both in writing.
Online Ordering by DoorDash. Commission-free direct orders with no monthly fee. The restaurant pays payment processing (2.9% + 30¢ on Boost and Pro, 3.3% + 30¢ on Starter), and customers pay delivery fees. Marketplace orders in the DoorDash app are a different product: 15%, 25% or 30% commission. DoorDash alternative.
Square Online. Square's online ordering profile is commission-free. Square for Restaurants is $0, $49 or $149 per location per month, and online card payments are 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. Square for Restaurants alternative.
ChowNow. Plans start at $229 (Launch), $319 (Grow) and $409 (Elevate) a month. The page also lists 2.95% + $0.29 per transaction, a $119–$499 setup fee, a $250–$420 printer, $99/year for a branded Apple app, and $7.98 per Flex Delivery order. ChowNow alternative.
GloriaFood. Free core online ordering with optional paid add-ons. GloriaFood's site says it will reach end of life on April 30, 2027, and Oracle doesn't offer a direct replacement. If you're on GloriaFood, start comparing now: GloriaFood alternative and our news story, GloriaFood is shutting down.
What we left out, and why
- Toast. Toast tested a $0.99 guest fee on online orders in 2023 and removed it ("we have made the decision to remove the $0.99 order processing fee," Toast newsroom, July 19, 2023). Its pricing page doesn't publish online ordering processing rates, so we have no per-order figure to compare. Toast alternative.
- BentoBox. Now part of Clover, and its site says new BentoBox services are only available to Clover POS customers.
- S4VOR. Its website showed "This service has been suspended" when we checked on October 18, 2026.
- Tabski. Built for food halls and multi-vendor venues: a $0.99 guest convenience fee or $59/month flat. Worth a look if that's your format.
- Uber Eats Webshop, Clover Online Ordering and others weren't re-read tonight, so they're not in the table.
How we built this list
We included systems that (1) market commission-free direct online ordering to US restaurants and (2) publish their fees on their own website. We read each vendor's pricing or product page on October 18, 2026 and quote it as written. Where a page didn't say something, we wrote "not stated" instead of guessing. We didn't score or rank vendors. Negotiated rates, promotions, hardware, taxes, tips and chargebacks aren't included. Ser.vi publishes this page and is one of the systems in it.
Questions restaurants ask
- What is a commission-free online ordering system?
- Software that lets a restaurant take pickup or delivery orders on its own website or app without the platform keeping a percentage of each sale. Costs still exist: a per-order fee, card processing, a monthly subscription, or some mix of the three.
- Who pays the fee on commission-free online ordering?
- It depends on the system. Ser.vi, Ginger Direct, MyOrdering, TruePlatter and Selflane charge the guest by design. TapThru and Upserve let the restaurant choose. OrderOrBook, DoorDash Online Ordering, Square Online and ChowNow put the cost on the restaurant. Owner.com charges the guest 5% and also bills the restaurant monthly.
- Which commission-free ordering systems have no monthly fee?
- From the fees we read on October 18, 2026: Ser.vi, Ginger Direct, TapThru, MyOrdering, TruePlatter, OrderOrBook, Online Ordering by DoorDash, Square Online on the Free plan, Selflane when used only for online orders, and GloriaFood until it shuts down on April 30, 2027.
- Is a percentage guest fee or a flat guest fee cheaper?
- For the guest, a flat fee is cheaper on large orders and a percentage is cheaper on small ones. For example, 5% equals a $1.25 flat fee at a $25 order. For the restaurant, what matters more is whether card processing is included or billed separately.
- Do I have to tell guests about a convenience fee?
- Show any fee clearly before the guest pays. Some states, such as California, have rules on how restaurant fees are disclosed. See Who pays the online ordering fee? for details.
- Does Ser.vi charge restaurants a commission on online orders?
- No. Ser.vi online ordering is 0% commission with no monthly fee for ordering. The guest pays a 5% convenience fee at checkout, which covers card processing and the platform.
See what your direct orders would cost on Ser.vi
Bring last month's delivery-app statement and we'll walk through it on a 20-minute demo.
By requesting a demo you agree to our Privacy Policy.