Blog / October 26, 2026
Lightspeed alternativeA Lightspeed Restaurant alternative with $0 monthly POS software
Short answer: Lightspeed Restaurant and Ser.vi both run on the iPad. The difference is the monthly bill and what each plan leaves out. Lightspeed lists Starter at 69 USD, Essential at 189 USD and Premium at 399 USD, card processing is not published, and online ordering and QR order-and-pay are not on Starter. Ser.vi's POS software is $0 a month on your existing iPad. Staff-entered POS orders are 3.0% + 20¢, paid by the restaurant by default, and you can pass that to customers with a cash discount program. Online and QR ordering are included at 0% commission to you; the guest pays 5% at checkout.
Updated October 26, 2026 · Lightspeed prices read from lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing on October 26, 2026
Ser.vi vs Lightspeed Restaurant (published prices)
| Ser.vi | Lightspeed Starter | Lightspeed Essential / Premium | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly POS software | $0 | 69 USD (no billing term printed) | 189 USD / 399 USD (no billing term printed); Enterprise quoted |
| In-person card rate | 3.0% + 20¢ per POS transaction, paid by the restaurant by default; pass it on with a cash discount program | Not published; integrated payments marked "Default" | Not published; integrated payments marked "Custom" |
| Hardware | Runs on your existing iPad, or optional Ser.vi hardware offered on terms, charged separately | Hardware kit (receipt printer, cash drawer, stand, kitchen printer) by quote; "iPad and payment terminal not included" | Same hardware kit, by quote |
| Use your own iPad? | Yes, your existing iPad on iPadOS 15 or later | Yes; K-Series app needs iPadOS 26.5 or higher for the latest version | Yes; K-Series app needs iPadOS 26.5 or higher for the latest version |
| Online ordering | Included: 0% commission to you; guest pays 5% at checkout; no monthly fee | Not included; add-on, price not published | Included in the plan |
| QR order-and-pay at the table | Included, same menu as the POS | Not included; add-on, price not published | Included in the plan |
| Kitchen display | Orders print to the kitchen; ask us in the demo | $30 per screen per month | $30 per screen per month |
| Contract | No contract on online ordering and POS software | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
Lightspeed: restaurant pricing and restaurant hardware, read October 26, 2026; iPad requirement from Lightspeed's K-Series supported hardware article, read October 26, 2026 (its L-Series help center lists iPadOS 17 or higher). Listed prices and quotes can differ from what you're offered, so check yours. Lightspeed is a trademark of its owner; Ser.vi is not affiliated with Lightspeed. Ser.vi: our pricing page.
What a Lightspeed alternative really costs
Every restaurant POS bill has the same three lines: software, card processing and hardware. Both systems run on the iPad, so the hardware line can be small on either one if your iPads are recent enough. Lightspeed's latest K-Series app asks for iPadOS 26.5 or higher; Ser.vi asks for iPadOS 15 or later. That leaves software and processing.
Software, over a year. At the listed prices, Lightspeed Starter is $828 a year, Essential is $2,268 a year and Premium is $4,788 a year, before kitchen screens at $30 each per month and any add-ons. A restaurant that wants online ordering and QR ordering without buying add-ons needs Essential or higher. Ser.vi POS software is $0, with both included.
Card processing. Lightspeed doesn't publish a rate on its pricing page, so we can't put a number next to ours. Ser.vi is 3.0% + 20¢ per staff-entered POS order. On 1,000 tickets a month at $40, that is $1,400 a month if the restaurant absorbs it, or close to $0 on the restaurant's fee line with a cash discount program. Ask Lightspeed for your effective rate on the same volume and compare. How cash discount differs from a surcharge.
Read that honestly: if you absorb card fees yourself and Lightspeed quotes you a rate well under 3.0% + 20¢, the processing savings can outweigh the software fee, especially on Starter. Ser.vi comes out ahead when you pass the POS fee on with a cash discount, when you'd rather not pay a monthly software fee, and when you want online and QR ordering without moving up a plan or buying add-ons.
Online orders, same $40 ticket: on Ser.vi the guest pays $2.00 (5%) and the restaurant pays $0 in commission and $0 in card fees. Compare that with a delivery app at 25–30% commission: $10–$12 on the same order. Delivery, when you offer it, starts at $6.50 plus tip, paid to the delivery provider. See commission-free online ordering and commission-free online ordering systems compared.
When Lightspeed still fits, and when Ser.vi is the better pick
Stay with (or pick) Lightspeed when
- You run several locations or a hotel outlet and need Lightspeed's multi-location management or multiple revenue centers (Essential and Premium).
- You want advanced inventory, raw API access or Lightspeed's own reservations and KDS from one vendor.
- You absorb card fees yourself and your Lightspeed quote has a clearly lower processing rate.
- You're inside a Lightspeed order form term or still paying for hardware.
Pick Ser.vi when
- You want to keep your iPad, including older iPads on iPadOS 15 or later, and stop paying a monthly POS software fee.
- You want to pass POS card fees to customers with a cash discount program.
- You want commission-free online ordering and QR order-and-pay on the same menu as your POS, included rather than gated to a higher plan, with the guest paying the 5% online fee.
- You want a published card rate you can check before the demo.
- You want optional marketing help (SEO website, Google Ads, SMS ordering link) from the same team; plans start at $249/mo and are never required.
Switching from Lightspeed to Ser.vi
- Read your Lightspeed order form first. Find the term end date, the renewal notice period, and whether you still owe on hardware.
- Export your menu and sales reports from the Lightspeed Back Office so you have your items, modifiers and history.
- Book a 20-minute demo. We walk through POS, online ordering and QR ordering on one menu, check that your iPads are ready to run the POS, cover optional hardware and terms, and include a free marketing report.
- Go live. We guarantee a 1-week setup from the time we receive all required information from you.
- Turn on direct online ordering and point your Google Business Profile and website "Order" button at your own storefront.
Questions restaurants ask
- How much does Lightspeed Restaurant cost?
- On lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing (October 26, 2026), Lightspeed lists three plans: Starter at 69 USD, Essential at 189 USD and Premium at 399 USD, with no billing term printed next to the price. Enterprise is "Get a quote", and the page adds "Prices may vary depending on the nature of the business and the industry." A Kitchen Display System is $30 per screen per month on every plan. Lightspeed does not publish its card processing rate on that page.
- Does Lightspeed Restaurant include online ordering?
- Not on Starter. Lightspeed's plan table includes online ordering and order-and-pay at the table (QR code ordering) on Essential and Premium, and says each is "also available on all plans as an add-on", with no add-on price on the page. On Ser.vi, online ordering and QR ordering come with the POS at no monthly fee and 0% commission to the restaurant; the guest pays 5% at checkout.
- What is Lightspeed K-Series?
- K-Series is one of Lightspeed's restaurant POS products. Lightspeed runs separate help centers for Restaurant K-Series, L-Series and U-Series, and the App Store app is listed as "Lightspeed Restaurant POS (K)". The K-Series help center says the latest POS app needs an iPad or iPhone on iPadOS or iOS 26.5 or higher. If you are comparing a K-Series quote, ask which plan and processing rate it includes, then compare it with Ser.vi's published fees.
- Can I use my own iPad with Lightspeed or Ser.vi?
- With both, yes, if the iPad is recent enough. Lightspeed's hardware kit lists a receipt printer, cash drawer, iPad stand and kitchen printer, with "iPad and payment terminal not included", and its K-Series help center asks for iPadOS 26.5 or higher for the latest app. Ser.vi POS runs on your existing iPad on iPadOS 15 or later, so many older iPads that can't update to Lightspeed's latest app may still run Ser.vi. Ser.vi hardware is optional and offered on terms, charged separately.
- Is Lightspeed cheaper than Ser.vi?
- On software, no: Lightspeed's plans are listed at 69, 189 and 399 USD, and Ser.vi POS software is $0 a month. On card processing, Lightspeed doesn't publish a rate on its pricing page, so compare your Lightspeed quote with Ser.vi's 3.0% + 20¢ on staff-entered POS orders. The restaurant pays that by default, or you can pass it to customers with a cash discount program.
- Is Ser.vi POS really free?
- The software is: $0 a month, no subscription, and no contract on online ordering and POS software. Card processing on staff-entered POS orders is 3.0% + 20¢, paid by the restaurant by default or passed to customers with a cash discount program. The POS runs on your existing iPad; Ser.vi hardware is optional and offered on terms. Is a free restaurant POS really free?
- How do I switch from Lightspeed to Ser.vi?
- Check your Lightspeed order form for the end date and renewal notice, and any hardware you still owe on, export your menu and sales reports from the Back Office, then book a 20-minute Ser.vi demo. We check that your iPads are ready to run the POS and guarantee a 1-week setup from the time we receive all required information from you.
See if Ser.vi fits your restaurant
Bring your Lightspeed statement or quote to a free 20-minute demo. We'll put your ticket count and average check next to Ser.vi's fees and show POS, online ordering and QR ordering on one menu, on your iPad. No credit card, no obligation.
More comparisons: TouchBistro alternative · iPad POS for restaurants · SpotOn alternative · Clover alternative · Toast alternative · Square for Restaurants alternative
By requesting a demo you agree to our Privacy Policy.